Main Categories

  • Universities

Education Medium

  • English
  • Tamil

University of Madras

One of the oldest universities of India the University of Madras was established in 1857 and was modelled on the lines of London University. The University which had only 1 7 University Departments, now has 18 Schools and 87 Departments of post-graduate teaching and research and 116 Affiliated Colleges, with 3 approved Institutions, 5 approved Institutions (Diploma/Certificate Courses), 15 stand alone Institutions (MBA/MCA), and 52 approved research Institutions. The research and teaching functions of the University were enhanced by the Report of the Sadler Commission and the gains were consolidated by the enactment of the Madras University Act of 1923, which governs the University with subsequent amendments made from time to time.MBA & MCA admissions are based on TANCET conducted by Directorate of Technical Education (DTE) Tamil Nadu.Admission to M.Sc course except for M.Sc (Photonics & Biophotonics/ Yoga) is offered on the basis of Entrance Test conducted by Madras University.

Contact Us

Contact us

Manage Your Profile